FIFA World Cup 1986

The FIFA World Cup 1986 was held in Mexico and won by Argentina, led by captain Diego Maradona.

The Host Country: Mexico

The FIFA World Cup 1986 was hosted by Mexico, a vibrant country known for its rich culture, passionate football fans, and historic landmarks. With its vibrant cities, beautiful landscapes, and love for the beautiful game, Mexico was the perfect choice to host this prestigious international tournament.

Selection Process

The selection process for hosting the FIFA World Cup is an extensive one. It involves bidding, evaluation, and decision-making by the FIFA Executive Committee. Many factors are considered, including infrastructure, stadiums, transportation, tourism potential, and overall readiness to host such a significant event.

Mexico’s bid to host the FIFA World Cup 1986 was successful, beating out strong contenders like Canada and the United States. The country’s football passion, previous experience as hosts in 1970, and the government’s commitment to invest in infrastructure played key roles in Mexico securing the opportunity to host the tournament once again.

Stadiums And Venues

Mexico took great pride in hosting the World Cup and left no stone unturned when it came to the preparation and selection of stadiums and venues. The matches were held in nine different stadiums across the country, each offering a unique footballing experience.

These stadiums varied in size, architecture, and historical significance. The iconic Estadio Azteca, located in Mexico City, was the main venue for the tournament, hosting the opening match, the final, and multiple other important matches. The other stadiums, including Estadio Jalisco in Guadalajara and Estadio Cuauhtémoc in Puebla, also provided memorable moments for both players and fans alike.

From the grandeur of the Azteca to the charm of smaller stadiums, Mexico’s dedication to providing top-notch facilities showcased their passion for the beautiful game and the honor of hosting the World Cup.

In conclusion, Mexico’s selection as the host country for the 1986 FIFA World Cup was well-deserved. The country’s love for football, previous experience, and impressive stadiums and venues made it an ideal destination for the tournament. Football fans from around the world were treated to an incredible experience, as Mexico embraced its role as a gracious and vibrant host.

Fifa World Cup 1986
FIFA World Cup 1986


Key Moments And Matches

The FIFA World Cup 1986 held in Mexico brought together some of the greatest football moments and matches in history. From controversial incidents, like Maradona’s Hand of God, to the thrilling final between Argentina and West Germany, this tournament was filled with unforgettable events.

Maradona’s Hand Of God

In the quarter-final match between Argentina and England, Diego Maradona wrote his name in World Cup history with a moment of both brilliance and controversy. It was the 51st minute of the game when Maradona punched the ball into the net with his left hand, fooling the referee and sparking outrage among England players and fans. This infamous handball goal, later referred to as the “Hand of God,” helped Argentina secure a 2-1 victory over England.

Final: Argentina Vs. West Germany

The final match of the FIFA World Cup 1986 was a highly anticipated showdown between Argentina and West Germany. Played on June 29, 1986, at the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City, the game was a clash of two football powerhouses.

In front of a crowd of over 114,000 spectators, Argentina took an early lead with a goal from Jose Luis Brown in the 23rd minute. However, the relentless determination of West Germany paid off, and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge equalized in the 74th minute. The game seemed destined for extra time but then came the moment that secured Argentina’s triumph.

In the 83rd minute, Jorge Valdano sent a precise pass to Jorge Burruchaga, who skillfully evaded the German defense and slotted the ball past the goalkeeper to give Argentina a 3-2 lead. Despite Germany’s desperate attempts to level the score, the final whistle blew, and Argentina emerged as the champions of the FIFA World Cup 1986.

Fifa World Cup 1986
FIFA World Cup 1986


Frequently Asked Questions Of FIFA World Cup 1986

Who Won The Fifa World Cup In 1986?

Argentina won the FIFA World Cup in 1986.

How Argentina Won FIFA World Cup 1986?

Argentina won the FIFA World Cup 1986 by showcasing their exceptional skills and teamwork. Led by captain Diego Maradona, they defeated strong opponents with a mix of strategic play and Maradona’s unforgettable “Hand of God” goal. Guided by coach Carlos Bilardo, Argentina secured a thrilling victory and became world champions.

Who Won The Golden Boot In 1986 World Cup?

Gary Lineker won the Golden Boot in the 1986 World Cup.

Why Did Mexico Host the FIFA World Cup in 1986?

Mexico hosted the 1986 World Cup due to its strong passion for soccer, large stadiums, and support from FIFA.


The FIFA World Cup 1986 was a historic event that showcased incredible football talent and captivating matches. With Diego Maradona’s “Hand of God” moment and his mesmerizing solo goal, this tournament will always be etched in the memories of football fans.

The triumph of Argentina and the brilliant performances of players like Gary Lineker and Michel Platini made this World Cup truly unforgettable. It remains a testament to the power of the beautiful game in uniting people and igniting passion across the globe.

Leave a Comment